My photography musings.

Explore and Embrace His Creation.

I really love the outdoors. Maybe you’ve noticed. If there’s one aspect of this earthly life that makes me believe in the power of God, it is through the beauty and majesty of the world He has surrounded us with.

“The earth is the LORD’s and all that is in it, the world, and those who live in it; for God has founded it on the seas, and established it on the rivers.” –Psalm 24:1-2

The summer before my freshman year at Lipscomb University, I had the opportunity to go on Wilderness TREK with the youth group I was a part of.

TREK is a rugged six-day adventure in the mountains of southern Colorado. Trek includes backpacking, hiking, rappelling, devotionals, solo times, a climb to the summit of a 13,000 or 14,000-foot mountain, and, if you prefer, white water rafting. It is specifically designed to challenge young people (14 – 19 years of age), adults, and families of all ages to discover self-confidence, self-esteem and personal faith.The trees completely overwhelmed me. Yet, under their shade, I felt secure. On our “summit day,” we had to begin hiking at 3 a.m. This picture was taken when the sun was rising over the mountains of Salida, Colo. We made it to the top! TREK was one of the most mentally, emotionally and physically challenging experiences I’ve ever had. There’s nothing quite like being 14,000+ feet above civilization.

This passage from Psalms sums up my feelings perfectly:

“Bless the LORD, O my soul. O LORD my God, you are great. You are clothed with honor and majesty, wrapped in light as with a garment. You stretch out the heavens like a tent, you set the beams of your chambers on the waters, you make the clouds your chariot, you ride on the wings of the wind, you make the winds your messengers, fire and flame your ministers. You set the earth on its foundations, so that it shall never be shaken. You cover it with the deep as with a garment; the waters stood above the mountains.” -Psalm 104:1-6

When/how do you feel closest to God? How can we do a better job of being good stewards to His creation?

4 responses

  1. Kathryn-Claire Watts

    I have never been outdoorsy. I mean bugs and sweat? Ew. But hearing about your adventure and seeing these pictures makes me want to rethink that. I kind of want to put hiking a mountain on my bucket list now!

    Lurb you!

    March 4, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  2. My youth group went on wilderness trek a few years back! I didn’t go because I in general hate nature, but I did get the chance to recap with them on their experience. I think they would agree with you that they really embraced God on this trip. During solo time a lot of kids let the wind blow the pages of their Bible and read wherever it stopped. I thought the concept of just being alone with God was awesome.

    March 4, 2011 at 4:12 pm

  3. I’ve never been on Trek, but my youth group took trips out there every year, and everyone that went said it was incredible. I love being out in nature, and the times when I am engulfed by it are definitely some of the times I have felt closest to God.

    March 4, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  4. How beautifully expressed! I love your photos. The composition is great. What kind of camera are you shooting with Leah?

    March 7, 2011 at 12:19 am

Leave a comment