My photography musings.

Perfect Love Casts Out Fear

Last summer, I had the beautiful opportunity to travel to Ghana, West Africa for a few weeks with a team from Lipscomb. I had previously been on mission trips to Honduras, Mexico and Ft. Worth, Texas, but this was my first destination where our main focus was on building/maintaining relationships.

We worked and stayed at the Village of Hope, an orphanage and school for hundreds of kids. 

This was one of the most impactful and enriching experiences of my life. The kids, house parents, teachers, administrators and citizens in Ghana are some of the most hospitable, generous and genuine people I have ever met. Throughout the year, I have kept in touch with my Ghanian friends through Facebook, phone calls and letters. I love them with all my heart. I can’t wait to go back this summer! I have been reflecting on this verse this week so I figured I’d share:

“The Lord will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched

land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a

spring whose waters never fail.”

-Isaiah 58:11

Have you had any similar experiences? If you could travel to one place in the world to spread God’s love, where would you choose?

3 responses

  1. Blake Harper

    I know exactly how you feel! I go to the City of Children in Mexico every year. Our primary goal is to also build and maintain relationships.
    I love your pictures as well. It is on my bucket list to travel to Africa for a mission trip. I know it must be incredible!

    March 25, 2011 at 3:05 pm

  2. These pictures are beautiful! I love the one of the two children by the tree. They are so full of joy! I have wanted for go to Africa on a mission trip for as long as I can remember. Thank you for sharing!

    March 25, 2011 at 3:13 pm

  3. Katie

    Leah, these are beautiful pictures! You have such a great talent. I’m excited to see what other emotions and stories you can capture when you return!

    March 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a comment